• Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying

    The Berkeley Heights Board of Education prohibits acts of harassment, intimidation, or bullying of a student. A safe and civil environment in school is necessary for students to learn and achieve high academic standards. Harassment, intimidation, or bullying, like other disruptive or violent behaviors, is conduct that disrupts both a student’s ability to learn and a school’s ability to educate its students in a safe and disciplined environment. Harassment, intimidation, or bullying is unwanted, aggressive behavior that may involve a real or perceived power imbalance. Since students learn by example, school administrators, faculty, staff and volunteers should be commended for demonstrating appropriate behavior, treating others with civility and respect, and refusing to tolerate harassment, intimidation, or bullying.

    HIB Policy 5512.01

     

    “Harassment, intimidation, or bullying” means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, as defined in N.J.S.A. 18A:37-14, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents that: is reasonably perceived as being motivated by either any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic; takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function, on a school bus, or off school grounds, as provided for in N.J.S.A. 18A:37-15.3; and substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students; and that: a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, that the act(s) will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student’s property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his/her person or damage to his/her property; or has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students; or creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student’s education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

     

    DISTRICT ANTI-BULLYING COORDINATOR


    Jon Morisseau (PreK-5) - jmorisseau@bhpsnj.org464-1713 x4510

    Madison Rowohlt (6-12)- mrowohlt@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2713


    ANTI-BULLYING SPECIALISTS


    Governor Livingston High School 

    Marissa Gold - mgold@bhpsnj.org 

    Melissa Mohr- mmohr@bhpsnj.org 

    Michelle Morin - mmorin@bhpsnj.org 

    Jay Pimentel- jpimentel@bhpsnj.org

    Carolyn Quigley - cquigley@bhpsnj.org 

    Steve Siebelts - ssiebelts@bhpsnj.org 

    James Weaver- jweaver@bhpsnj.org

    Emily Zengel- ezengel@bhpsnj.org 


    Columbia Middle School 

    Gina DeLauro - gdelauro@bhpsnj.org 

    Heather Goldstein - hgoldstein@bhpsnj.org 

    Ashley Morris - amorris@bhpsnj.org 

    Megan Gallagan - mgallagan@bhpsnj.org 

    Peter Sempepos - psempepos@bhpsnj.org 


    Mountain Park

    Chris Coughlin - ccoughlin@bhpsnj.org 

    Elizabeth Doerrbecker- edoerrbecker@bhpsnj.org 


    Thomas P. Hughes 

    Elizabeth Bartlett - ebartlett@bhpsnj.org 


    William Woodruff 

    Deborah Velelis - dvelelis@bhpsnj.org


    Mary Kay McMillin

    Aida Swon- aswon@bhpsnj.org 

    Dr. Susan Tennant - stennant@bhpsnj.org