• Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying

    5512.01

    Reporting Violence, Vandalism, Harassment, Intimidation, Bullying, Alcohol, And Other Drug Abuse Policy

    8461 

     

    The state of New Jersey passed the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights in 2011 to improve harassment, intimidation and bullying (HIB) laws that were adopted in 2002 (and subsequently amended in 2007 & 2008). These new regulations establish clearer standards for the definition of harassment, intimidation and bullying while clarifying and strengthening standards on preventing, reporting, investigating and responding to incidents of HIB. Districts have been charged with the task of using existing resources to increase school safety.


    Research clearly indicates that bullying is a learned behavior and detrimental to the academic, physical, social and emotional development of all involved—bullies, targets and the bystanders who witness it. A wave of recent bullying incidents with tragic outcomes has shed a renewed light on this issue. The advent of technology allows for impulsive, anonymous and rapid communication that has expanded the opportunities for bullying to a degree that necessitates more innovative and immediate responses than ever before (DuPage County Anti-Bullying Task Force Model Bullying Policy, 2011).


    The Berkeley Heights Public Schools renews its efforts to prevent, report, investigate and respond to harassment, intimidation and bullying that are aligned to state laws and district policies. The district’s Anti-Bullying Coordinator will coordinate district-wide efforts, work closely with school Anti-Bullying Specialists, provide staff training and send data to the NJDOE in collaboration with the district administration. Each school has been assigned an Anti-Bullying Specialist who will lead investigations into reports of harassment, intimidation and bullying, in coordination with the building principal. The specialist will also chair the School Safety Team, whose purpose is to develop, foster and maintain a positive school climate. All of the schools in the district celebrate New Jersey’s Week of Respect, which takes place the first full week of October each year, and each school continues to provide programs throughout the school year in an effort to promote positive school climate.


    Throughout the year, as students may be involved in possible incidents of harassment, intimidation and bullying, our Anti-Bullying Specialists will conduct investigations: talking to students, observing classrooms and working with school staff to determine the nature of such incidents. If your child has been involved in an investigation, you will likely receive an initial phone call and a follow-up letter notifying you of the results of the investigation once it has been completed. Specific timelines exist to guide staff and administration in these endeavors.


    We look forward to working together with students, parents and community members to make our schools safe, productive learning environments for all.


     

    District Anti-Bullying Coordinator:

    Christina Zaun - czaun@bhpsnj.org464-1718 x1010


    Anti-Bullying Specialists:

    Governor Livingston High School

    Chris Coughlin - ccoughlin@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2710

    Marissa Gold - mgold@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2712

    Michelle Morin - mmorin@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2714

    Carolyn Quigley - cquigley@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2711

    Bob Segear - bsegear@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2317

    Steve Siebelts - ssiebelts@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2413

    Deborah Velelis - dvelelis@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2715


    Columbia Middle School 

    Gina DeLauro - gdelauro@bhpsnj.org, 464-1600 x1208

    Noelle Fenimore - nfenimore@bhpsnj.org, 464-1600 x1105

    Ashley Morris - amorris@bhpsnj.org, 464-1600 x1106

    Briana Palumbo - bpalumbo@bhpsnj.org, 464-1600 x1627

    Peter Sempepos - psempepos@bhpsnj.org, 464-1600 x1850


    Mountain Park - Heather Goldstein - hgoldstein@bhpsnj.org, 464-1713 x4309

    Thomas P. Hughes - Liz Bartlett - lbartlett@bhpsnj.org, 464-1717 x1860

    William Woodruff - Aida Swon - aswon@bhpsnj.org, 464-1723 x5335

    Mary Kay McMillin - Dr. Susan Tennant - stennant@bhpsnj.org, 464-1298 x1860