• Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying

    The Berkeley Heights Board of Education prohibits acts of harassment, intimidation, or bullying of a student. A safe and civil environment in school is necessary for students to learn and achieve high academic standards. Harassment, intimidation, or bullying, like other disruptive or violent behaviors, is conduct that disrupts both a student’s ability to learn and a school’s ability to educate its students in a safe and disciplined environment. Harassment, intimidation, or bullying is unwanted, aggressive behavior that may involve a real or perceived power imbalance. Since students learn by example, school administrators, faculty, staff and volunteers should be commended for demonstrating appropriate behavior, treating others with civility and respect, and refusing to tolerate harassment, intimidation, or bullying.

    HIB Policy 5512.01

     

    “Harassment, intimidation, or bullying” means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, as defined in N.J.S.A. 18A:37-14, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents that: is reasonably perceived as being motivated by either any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic; takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function, on a school bus, or off school grounds, as provided for in N.J.S.A. 18A:37-15.3; and substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students; and that: a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, that the act(s) will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student’s property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his/her person or damage to his/her property; or has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students; or creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student’s education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

     

    DISTRICT ANTI-BULLYING COORDINATOR


    Christina Zaun - czaun@bhpsnj.org464-1718 x1010


    ANTI-BULLYING SPECIALISTS


    Governor Livingston High School

    Chris Coughlin - ccoughlin@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2710

    Marissa Gold - mgold@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2712

    Michelle Morin - mmorin@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2714

    Carolyn Quigley - cquigley@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2711

    Madison Rowohlt - mrowohlt@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2317

    Steve Siebelts - ssiebelts@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2413

    Deborah Velelis - dvelelis@bhpsnj.org, 464-3100 x2715


    Columbia Middle School 

    Gina DeLauro - gdelauro@bhpsnj.org, 464-1600 x1208

    Noelle Warner - nwarner@bhpsnj.org, 464-1600 x1105

    Ashley Morris - amorris@bhpsnj.org, 464-1600 x1106

    Megan Gallagan - mgallagan@bhpsnj.org, 464-1600 x1627

    Peter Sempepos - psempepos@bhpsnj.org, 464-1600 x1850


    Mountain Park 

    Heather Goldstein - hgoldstein@bhpsnj.org, 464-1713 x4309


    Thomas P. Hughes 

    Elizabeth Bartlett - ebartlett@bhpsnj.org, 464-1717 x1860


    William Woodruff 

    Christina Futterknecht - cfutterknecht@bhpsnj.org, 464-1723 x5335


    Mary Kay McMillin

    Dr. Susan Tennant - stennant@bhpsnj.org, 464-1298 x1860