•  What is Language Proficiency? 

    According to the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages, this is a description of proficiency guidlines:
    "The ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines 2012—Speaking describe five major levels of proficiency: Distinguished, Superior, Advanced, Intermediate, and Novice. The description of each major level is representative of a specific range of abilities. Together these levels form a hierarchy in which each level subsumes all lower levels. The major levels Advanced, Intermediate, and Novice are divided into High, Mid, and Low sublevels.

    The Guidelines describe the tasks that speakers can handle at each level, as well as the content, context, accuracy, and discourse types associated with tasks at each level. They also present the limits that speakers encounter when attempting to function at the next higher major level."
    Website Link to Guidelines 
    By the end of 8th Grade, the goal is for students to range from Novice HIGH to Intermediate LOW. 
     Image result for what is my proficiency level
    * Image from http://www.path2proficiency.com/the-path-to-proficiency/

     What are the 3 Modes of Communication? 

    Image result for three modes of communication

    * image from https://nhpsworldlanguages.wikispaces.com/Curriculum+Information+for+Parents


    What are the 5 Cs of foreign language learning? 


    • Our current standards wrap around the 5 Cs of Foreign Language Learning. For a summary, click below. 
    • World Readiness Standards

    Image result for 5 c's of foreign language

    * image from ACTFL https://www.actfl.org/assessment-professional-development/assessments-the-actfl-testing-office/aappl/tasks-topics